## Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the African Violet Society of America, Inc. By Rich Follett

Email: secretary@avsa.org

The annual membership meeting of the African Violet Society of America, Inc. took place at the AVSA National Convention, "Violets Go Hog Wild in Arkansas," in Little Rock, Arkansas on June 4, 2022.

The annual membership meeting was called to order by Third Vice President Sharon Shannon at 3:16 CT. The invocation was given by Dr. Charles Ramser, and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Third Vice President Sharon Shannon. Third Vice President Shannon introduced herself, followed by the officers on the dais, and then presented the AVSA President, Susan Anderson.

Rich Follett, Acting Secretary, reported that a quorum of 50 members was present. Follett read the Standing Rules for the Annual Meeting and moved for their adoption. The motion was seconded by First Vice President Glenda Williams. President Anderson called for a show of hands in the affirmative, and then in the negative. A two-thirds majority having been established, the standing Rules were adopted. A copy of the Standing Rules is attached to these minutes.

President Anderson appointed Mary Thompson, Chair, Scott Ammann, and Douglas Allen to approve the 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes. Leonard Re was appointed Timekeeper. President Anderson appointed Jill Jensen, Chair, Winston Goretsky, and Candace Baldwin to be the Tellers. Randy Deutsch reported that the minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting were approved.

Jill Jensen, Resolutions Chair, presented the Courtesy Resolution which is attached and was published on the AVSA website under the Arkansas convention. Jensen made a motion for the courtesy Resolution to be adopted, followed by a voice vote, called for by President Anderson. The Resolution was adopted.

President Anderson called for Joyce Stork of the Bylaws Committee to present proposed Bylaws Amendments previously approved by the Board of Directors. Stork presented a proposed amendment, by addition and renumbering, to Article VI, Meetings and Communications, section 1, along with a corresponding rationale. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, a voice vote was taken, and the amendment was adopted.

Stork next presented an amendment, by addition, to Article VI, Meetings and Communications, Section 2, along with a corresponding rationale. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, a voice vote was taken, and the amendment was adopted.

Stork next presented an amendment, by deletion and subsequent addition, to Article VI, Meetings and Communications, Section 4, along with a corresponding rationale. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, a voice vote was taken, and the amendment was adopted.

Stork next presented an amendment, by addition, to Article VII, Board of Directors, Section 3 - Votes, along with a corresponding rationale. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, the amendment was adopted.

Stork next presented an amendment, by addition, to Article X, Committees, paragraph 17, Standing Committees, along with a corresponding rationale. Before Stork's motion was voted upon, Candace Baldwin made a motion from the floor, along with a corresponding rationale, on behalf of the Website (Special) Committee and the Technology (Standing) Committee to strike the existing proposed language in Stork's motion and replace it with language which more clearly defined the committees' roles. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, a voice vote was taken, and the proposed language was adopted to amend Stork's previous motion. President Anderson called for debate on Stork's amended motion; hearing none, a voice vote was taken, and the amendment was adopted with Baldwin's language in place.

Stork next presented an amendment, by addition, to Article XII, Amendments to the Bylaws, along with a corresponding rationale. President Anderson called for debate; hearing none, the amendment was adopted.

President Anderson called for further proposed amendments to the bylaws to be presented. There were no further proposed amendments. A copy of the adopted amendments is attached to this report.

President Anderson next called for a report from Nominating Committee chair Kathy Lahti, who submitted the nomination of Rich Follett of Virginia to the post of AVSA Secretary. President Anderson asked for additional nominations from the floor and, hearing none, closed the nominations and called for a voice vote. Rich Follett was elected to the post of AVSA Secretary, to serve until the close of the 2023 annual meeting and congratulations were extended.

Lahti next reported, on behalf of the Nominating Committee, the slate of proposed directors to serve until the close of the 2025 annual meeting: Sam Cunningham, Texas; Marge Farrand, Michigan; Jackie Leitzel, Pennsylvania; William Patterson, Arizona; and April Van Ness, New Jersey. President Anderson opened the floor for additional nominations and, hearing none, closed the nominations and asked for debate. Hearing none, President Anderson called for a voice vote. The proposed slate of Directors was duly elected and congratulations were extended. President Anderson recognized the following retiring Directors and requested them to stand as their names were called: Stephen Covolo-Hudson, California; Richard Craft, Nevada; Jill Jensen, Nebraska; Linda Price, Florida, excused; and Mary Thompson, California. Members applauded after all names had been called.

President Anderson recognized Kathy Lahti as the retiring Director of the Nominating Committee, asking her to stand when her name was called. Members applauded.

President Anderson next recognized Randy Deutsch as the 2023 Atlanta Convention Chair and Candace Baldwin as the 2023 Convention Co-Chair and called for Randy to report. Randy offered an official welcome to the 2023 Atlanta convention.

President Anderson called for New Business. None was presented.

President Anderson called for Resolutions Chair Jill Jensen to present "Lest We Forget" - the list of those AVSA members known to have passed away since the last Annual Membership Meeting. Jensen presented the list, as follows: Al Armstrong, LA; Lucille Chester, FL; Peggy Fergon, TX; Bob Green, FL; Marcia Jacobs, MO; Dalice Johnson, SD; Terry Jordan, VA; Marie Montague, MA; Janice O'Neill, MN; Jim Owens, OH; Mary Ann Ryan, NY; Shirley Streit, WI; Carol Van, VA; Fay Wagman, NY; Nancy Weller, VA; and Roger Wheeler, CT.

President Anderson called for any additional names to be added to the list (the list above includes names that were added at that time).

President Anderson announced a Special Called Board Meeting to be held directly after the Open Forum.

President Anderson called for any further business. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:02 🙀 CT.